2021-02-18 09:10:03 | match dates, start times and full TV schedule


Story by: Telegraph Sport The Telegraph

India fell behind in this four-match series against England, but the hosts responded with a totally dominant showing in the second Test.

Virat Kohli’s side issued the perfect riposte to their loss in the first Test with an emphatic 317-run victory on a turning Chennai wicket which evened the series up at 1-1.

Rohit Sharma’s masterful 161 led India to 329 in the first innings, with England collapsing to 134 all-out in reply on a spinning surface which has been widely criticised.

However, Ravichandran Ashwin showed it was possible to prosper in the conditions as he struck a superb century on his home ground in India’s second innings of 286, including 14 fours and a six. 

England succumbed for just 164 in their second innings, with the final wicket partnership of 38 their highest in the match. 

It was a far cry from England’s first Test heroics, when an astonishing spell of reverse swing from James Anderson led the tourists to a famous fifth-day, 227-run victory.

Prior to England’s win, India had lost just one of their last 35 matches on home turf dating back to 2012, and Anderson’s magnificent work in the morning session made it a reality, dismissing Shubman Gill and Ajinkya Rahane in an over which will go down as one of the most compelling in recent history. 

Captain Joe Root also led from the front with a magnificent first-innings double-hundred. The victory meant his side had won six consecutive overseas games, including visits to South Africa and Sri Lanka, their best streak away from home since 1914.

See also  2021-02-23 16:28:30 | Moldova court rules against presidential decree on new government | Elections News

But India’s dominance in the second Test ensured the streak ended at six. 

India vs England tour fixtures

Test series


  • 1st T20 – March 12 (Ahmedabad), 19:00 local – 13:30 GMT​
  • 2nd T20 – March 14 (Ahmedabad), 19:00 local – 13:30 GMT​
  • 3rd T20 – March 16 (Ahmedabad), 19:00 local – 13:30 GMT
  • 4th T20 – March 18 (Ahmedabad), 19:00 local – 13:30 GMT
  • 5th T20 – March 20 (Ahmedabad), 19:00 local – 13:30 GMT


  • 1st ODI, March 23 (Pune), 13:30 local – 08:00 GMT
  • 2nd ODI, March 26 (Pune), 13:30 local – 08:00 GMT
  • 3rd ODI, March 28 (Pune), 13:30 local – 09:00 BST

How to watch England vs India live

Channel 4 is the broadcaster of the England-India Test series after a long-running TV rights bidding war that included up to six companies.

There had been intense negotiations between Star Sports in India, which owns the rights to the series, and UK broadcasters. Both BT Sport and Sky Sports made bids for the series, but Channel 4 triumphed and is showing the matches on Channel 4 and All 4, its on-demand service.

What radio station is it on?

talkSPORT is the radio broadcaster for the tour with ball-by-ball coverage on talkSPORT 2. The broadcast team includes regulars Darren Gough, Mark Nicholas, Mark Butcher, Matt Prior, Steve Harmison, Gareth Batty, Alex Tudor, Neil Manthorp, Jarrod Kimber, Jon Norman, Guy Swindells and Andrew McKenna.

England squad for first two Tests

Joe Root (capt), Jofra Archer, Moeen Ali, James Anderson, Dom Bess, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler, Zak Crawley, Ben Foakes, Dan Lawrence, Jack Leach, Dom Sibley, Ben Stokes, Olly Stone, Chris Woakes.
Reserves: James Bracey, Mason Crane, Saqib Mahmood, Matthew Parkinson), Ollie Robinson, Amar Virdi.

See also  2020-11-12 00:16:44 | Viewpoint: Russia and Turkey - unlikely victors of Karabakh conflict

India squad for first two Tests

Virat Kohli (capt), Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Rishabh Pant, Wriddhiman Saha, Hardik Pandya, KL Rahul, R Ashwin, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur.


Story continues…

Source References: The Telegraph

Leave a Reply