2020-11-13 11:26:40 | Euro 2020: fixtures, match dates, kick-off times and group-stage schedule


Story by: Telegraph Sport The Telegraph

Following the conclusion of the Euro 2020 play-offs, which included Scotland’s dramatic win over Serbia on penalties, the line-up for the tournament is now complete.

England will take on Scotland in the group stages in what will be their first tournament clash since Euro 96. A mouth-watering prospect.

The tournament consists of 24 teams, split across six groups. The top 16 teams will progress to the knockout stages, with the top two in each group plus four best third-placed teams to go through. The competition then enters a traditional knockout format.

England have been drawn in the same group as Scotland, Croatia and the Czech Republic. The group of death looks to be Group F, containing Germany, France, Portugal and Hungary.

When is the tournament?

The tournament, which was postponed by a year due to the global pandemic, will now take place from the June 11 to July 11 2021.

Which teams have qualified?

Euro 2020 groups:

  • Group A: Italy, Switzerland, Turkey, Wales
  • Group B: Belgium, Russia, Denmark, Finland
  • Group C: Ukraine, Netherlands, Austria, North Macedonia
  • Group D: England, Croatia, Czech Republic, Scotland
  • Group E: Spain, Poland, Sweden, Slovakia
  • Group F: Germany, France, Portugal, Hungary

Will fans be able to attend games?

It remains unclear at this stage whether or not spectators will be allowed into the stadiums. 

When do England play Scotland?

England will play Scotland in their second group fixture on June 18, with Croatia their opening match of the competition.

Here is the complete fixture list:

See also  2020-11-07 19:35:18 | Georgia 2020 election results: Why Democrats are optimistic

Group stage

Friday 11 June

Group A: Turkey vs Italy (20:00, Rome)

Saturday 12 June

Group A: Wales vs Switzerland (14:00, Baku) Group B: Denmark vs Finland (15:00, Copenhagen) Group B: Belgium vs Russia (20:00, St Petersburg)

Sunday 13 June

Group D: England vs Croatia (14:00, London) Group C: Austria vs North Macedonia (17:00, Bucharest) Group C: Netherlands vs Ukraine (20:00, Amsterdam)

Monday 14 June

Group D: Scotland vs Czech Republic (14:00, Glasgow) Group E: Poland vs Slovakia (17:00, Dublin) Group E: Spain vs Sweden (20:00, Bilbao)

Tuesday 15 June

Group F: Hungary vs Portugal (17:00, Budapest) Group F: France vs Germany (20:00, Munich)

Wednesday 16 June

Group B: Finland vs Russia (14:00, St Petersburg) Group A: Turkey vs Wales (15:00, Baku) Group A: Italy vs Switzerland (20:00, Rome)

Thursday 17 June

Group C: Ukraine vs North Macedonia (14:00, Bucharest) Group B: Denmark vs Belgium (17:00, Copenhagen) Group C: Netherlands vs Austria (20:00, Amsterdam)

Friday 18 June

Group E: Sweden vs Slovakia (14:00, Dublin) Group D: Croatia vs Czech Republic (17:00, Glasgow) Group D: England vs Scotland (20:00, London)

Saturday 19 June

Group F: Hungary vs France (14:00, Budapest) Group F: Portugal vs Germany (17:00, Munich) Group E: Spain vs Poland (20:00, Bilbao)

Sunday 20 June

Group A: Italy vs Wales (15:00, Rome) Group A: Switzerland vs Turkey (17:00, Baku)

Monday 21 June

Group C: North Macedonia vs Netherlands (17:00, Amsterdam) Group C: Ukraine vs Austria (17:00, Bucharest) Group B: Russia vs Denmark (20:00, Copenhagen) Group B: Finland vs Belgium (20:00, St Petersburg)

Tuesday 22 June

Group D: Czech Republic vs England (20:00, London) Group D: Croatia vs Scotland (20:00, Glasgow)

Wednesday 23 June

Group E: Slovakia vs Spain (17:00, Bilbao) Group E: Sweden vs Poland (17:00, Dublin) Group F: Germany vs Hungary (20:00, Munich) Group F: Portugal v France (20:00, Budapest)

Knockout phase

Round of 16

Saturday 26 June

1: 2A vs 2B (17:00, Amsterdam) 2: 1A vs 2C (20:00, London)

Sunday 27 June

3: 1C vs 3D/E/F (17:00, Budapest) 4: 1B vs 3A/D/E/F (20:00, Bilbao)

Monday 28 June

5: 2D vs 2E (17:00, Copenhagen) 6: 1F vs 3A/B/C (20:00, Bucharest)

Tuesday 29 June

7: 1D vs 2F (17:00, Dublin) 8: 1E vs 3A/B/C/D (20:00, Glasgow)


Friday 2 July

QF1: Winner 6 vs Winner 5 (17:00, St Petersburg) QF2: Winner 4 vs Winner 2 (20:00, Munich)

Saturday 3 July

QF3: Winner 3 vs Winner 1 (17:00, Baku) QF4: Winner 8 vs Winner 7 (20:00, Rome)

See also  2021-02-16 10:09:30 | Novak Djokovic vs Alexander Zverev, Australian Open 2021, live score and latest updates


Tuesday 6 July

SF1: Winner QF2 vs Winner QF1 (20:00, London)

Wednesday 7 July

SF2: Winner QF4 vs Winner QF3 (20:00, London)


Sunday 11 July

Winner SF1 vs Winner SF2 (20:00, London)

Where are the matches being played?

As it stands, the tournament is scheduled to be played across 12 host cities around Europe. This format may have to be altered depending on the state of the global pandemic in July.

  1. Glasgow (Hampden Park, capacity 51,000). 
  2. Dublin (Dublin Arena, 51,000).
  3. London (Wembley, 90,000). 
  4. Bilbao (San Mames, 53,000). 
  5. Amsterdam (Johan Cruyff Arena, 54,000). 
  6. Copenhagen (Parken Stadium, 38,000). 
  7. Munich (Football Arena Munich, 70,000). 
  8. Rome (Stadio Olimpico, 68,000). 
  9. Budapest (Puskas Arena, 68,000). 
  10. St Petersburg (Krestovsky Stadium, 61,000). 
  11.  Bucharest (Arena Nationala, 54,000). 
  12. Baku (Olympic Stadium, 69,000).


Story continues…

Source References: The Telegraph

Leave a Reply