2020-10-24 11:44:12 | what you can and can’t do in ‘medium risk’ alert areas


Story by: Telegraph reporters The Telegraph

The Government has introduced a “rule of three” tiered system in order to simplify local lockdowns in coronavirus hotspots.

To “simplify” the rules, Boris Johnson has ushered in a new model of “Local Covid Alert Levels” in England which will work as a traffic light system. Under the system there will be three tiers – medium, high and very high. 

In areas with particularly high levels of infection pubs, gyms and casinos could be forced to closed in order to stop the spread.

The Prime Minister said the new Covid alert levels were being introduced to “squash this virus wherever it appears”.

What are medium level/Tier 1 lockdown rules?

The medium level covers most of the country and consists of the current national measures. This means those in a Tier 1 area must abide by the “Rule of Six” and the closure of venues at 10pm.

  • All businesses and venues can continue to operate, in a Covid-secure manner, other than those that remain closed in law, such as nightclubs and adult entertainment venues
  • Certain businesses selling food or drink on their premises are required to close between 10pm and 5am. Businesses and venues selling food for consumption off the premises can continue to do so after 10pm as long as this is through delivery service, click-and-collect or drive-thru.
  • Schools, universities and places of worship remain open
  • Weddings and funerals can go ahead with restrictions on the number of attendees
  • Organised indoor sport and exercise classes can continue to take place, provided the Rule of Six is followed
  • People must not meet in groups larger than six, indoors or outdoors
See also  2021-02-25 19:54:05 | Morning mail: 19 ecosystems 'collapsing', jobseeker v political perks, Gaga's dogs stolen |

Tier 2 lockdown rules: what you can and can’t do in ‘high’ alert areas

Tier 3 lockdown rules explained: what you can and can’t do in ‘very high’ risk alert areas

Use our interactive tool to see which tier your area falls under in England’s new system for local lockdowns


Story continues…

Source References: The Telegraph

Leave a Reply