2020-10-18 09:33:08 | what are the new restrictions for ‘very high’ alert areas?


Story by: Telegraph reporters The Telegraph

A “rule of three” tiered system has been brought in to simplify local lockdowns in coronavirus hotspots.

The Government’s new model of “Local Covid Alert Levels” in England will work as a traffic light system with three distinct tiers – medium, high and very high. 

In areas with particularly high levels of infection, pubs, gyms and casinos could be forced to close their doors to stop the spread of the virus.

Boris Johnson said these new Covid alert levels were being introduced to “avoid the misery of a second lockdown”.

​What is very high level/Tier 3 lockdown?

For areas with a very high level of infections. The Government will set a baseline of measures for any area in this local alert level. Consultation with local authorities will determine additional measures.

The baseline means the measures below are in place:

  • Pubs and bars must close, and can only remain open where they operate as if they were a restaurant – which means serving substantial meals, like a main lunchtime or evening meal. They may only serve alcohol as part of such a meal
  • Wedding receptions are not allowed
  • People must not meet anybody outside their household or support bubble in any indoor or outdoor setting, whether at home or in a public space. The “Rule of Six” applies in open public spaces like parks and beaches
  • People should try to avoid travelling outside the ‘very high’ area they are in, or entering a ‘very high’ area, other than for things like work, education, accessing youth services, to meet caring responsibilities or if they are in transit
  • People should avoid staying overnight in another part of the UK if they are resident in a ‘very high’ area, or avoid staying overnight in a ‘very high’ area if they are resident elsewhere
See also  2020-11-12 00:01:00 | International aid should put its money where its mouth is when it comes to women’s grassroots activism

Tier 1 lockdown rules explained: what you can and can’t do in ‘medium risk alert areas

Tier 2 lockdown rules: what you can and can’t do in ‘high’ alert areas

What areas are affected?

The areas of Liverpool and Merseyside in Tier 3 lockdown include Knowsley, The Wirral, St Helens, Sefton and Halton.

Lancashire is the most recent region to move into the ‘very high’ level alert.


Story continues…

Source References: The Telegraph

Leave a Reply