2020-10-15 12:26:53 | The latest local lockdown restrictions in York, Chesterfield, Essex and Manchester


Story by: Harry Yorke The Telegraph

Which areas are in local lockdown and what are the rules?


The Liverpool City region, which includes Knowsley, Wirral, St Helens, Sefton and Halton, has been placed under Tier 3 restrictions, or the very high alert level.

This means that all social mixing indoors and in private gardens is prohibited, and pubs and bars will be closed. In addition to these measures, gyms and leisure centres, betting centres, adult game centres and casinos will also close.

These restrictions came into effect on Wednesday 14 October.

The North West and North East and Yorkshire are seeing the fastest rise in hospital cases, with Liverpool University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust experiencing the steepest increase. The Trust now has more than 250 Covid-19 patients in its beds. 

Read more: Can I go on holiday in local lockdown?

North East and Tees Valley

The North East and Tees Valley have been placed under Tier 2 restrictions.

This includes Newcastle, South Tyneside, North Tyneside, Gateshead, Sunderland, Durham, Northumberland, Middlesbrough, Redcar and Cleveland, Stockton-on-Tees, Darlington and Hartlepool.

West Yorkshire and Leeds

West Yorkshire and Leeds have been placed under Tier 2 restrictions.

The areas affected include Bradford, Kirklees, Calderdale and Wakefield.

Read more: Can I meet up with friends and family, and can grandparents look after their grandchildren now?

Wales including Cardiff, Swansea and Llanelli

Two-thirds of the population of Wales are now living in lockdown, including the country’s capital Cardiff plus Swansea and Llanelli.

Neath Port Talbot, Torfaen and the Vale of Glamorgan all had new restrictions introduced from September 28.

See also  2021-02-27 16:15:20 | Palestinians Go Into New Lockdown While Awaiting Vaccines

The rules have also been tightened in Blaenau Gwent, Caerphilly, Bridgend, Merthyr Tydfil, Newport, and Rhondda Cynon Taf. And on October 1, new restrictions were introduced in Conwy, Flintshire, Denbighshire and Wrexham. 

There are currently tighter restrictions in 17 areas of Wales, including Cardiff, Swansea and parts of North Wales, affecting more than 2.3 million people.

These prohibit people from entering or leaving an area without a reasonable excuse such as work or education.

Under the more general lockdown rules in Wales, licensed premises have to stop selling alcohol at 10pm, face coverings are mandatory in indoor public spaces and public transport, and people cannot gather in groups of more than 30 outdoors.

The rules also say people are not allowed to meet indoors with people they do not live with, unless they have formed an extended household.

People in Wales can meet indoors in a group of up to six people, with children under 11 not included in the number.

The country’s health minister Vaughan Gething has also said Wales could be placed under a new national lockdown in order to halt a sharp rise in coronavirus cases.

Meanwhile, First Minister Mark Drakeford said Wales will ban entry to people from areas of the UK with high levels of coronavirus by Friday if Boris Johnson fails to impose UK-wide travel restrictions.


London has not yet confirmed any local lockdown measures, but it has been added to Public Health England’s watch list, which sets out areas of concern following a rise in infections.

It is expected that London will be placed under the Tier Two, or high alert level, in the Government’s new three-tier system.

See also  2021-02-02 23:13:39 | States in the US are Pulling Back Vaccine Doses from Federal Program for Nursing Homes

The Mayor of London, Sadiq Khan, has not ruled out introducing new lockdown measures specific to London amid a rising tide in infections.


Story continues…

Source References: The Telegraph

Leave a Reply