2020-10-15 00:51:37 | Northern Ireland lockdown restrictions announced


Story by: Harry Yorke The Telegraph

Which areas are in local lockdown and what are the rules?


The Liverpool City region, which includes Knowsley, Wirral, St Helens, Sefton and Halton, has been placed under Tier 3 restrictions, or the very high alert level.

This means that all social mixing indoors and in private gardens is prohibited, and pubs and bars will be closed. In addition to these measures, gyms and leisure centres, betting centres, adult game centres and casinos will also close.

These restrictions came into effect on Wednesday 14 October.

The North West and North East and Yorkshire are seeing the fastest rise in hospital cases, with Liverpool University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust experiencing the steepest increase. The Trust now has more than 250 Covid-19 patients in its beds. 

Read more: Can I go on holiday in local lockdown?

North East and Tees Valley

The North East and Tees Valley have been placed under Tier 2 restrictions.

This includes Newcastle, South Tyneside, North Tyneside, Gateshead, Sunderland, Durham, Northumberland, Middlesbrough, Redcar and Cleveland, Stockton-on-Tees, Darlington and Hartlepool.

West Yorkshire and Leeds

West Yorkshire and Leeds have been placed under Tier 2 restrictions.

The areas affected include Bradford, Kirklees, Calderdale and Wakefield.

Read more: Can I meet up with friends and family, and can grandparents look after their grandchildren now?

Wales including Cardiff, Swansea and Llanelli

Two-thirds of the population of Wales are now living in lockdown, including the country’s capital Cardiff plus Swansea and Llanelli.

Neath Port Talbot, Torfaen and the Vale of Glamorgan all had new restrictions introduced from September 28.

See also  2020-11-11 07:19:09 | When does it start, and how will this year’s show work in Wales?

The restrictions mean people should not meet indoors, aside from extended households, and nor should they enter or leave their regions without a “reasonable” excuse.

People must also work from home whenever possible, the Welsh health minister Vaughan Gething said.

The rules have also been tightened in Blaenau Gwent, Caerphilly, Bridgend, Merthyr Tydfil, Newport, and Rhondda Cynon Taf. And on October 1, new restrictions were introduced in Conwy, Flintshire, Denbighshire and Wrexham. 

People are not allowed to enter or leave these areas without a reasonable excuse, such as travel for work or education, and people will only be able to meet others they don’t live with outdoors for the time being. 

In those areas, people have not been allowed to leave or enter the county area without a “reasonable excuse”, people over 11 must wear face coverings in shops, and people will only be allowed to meet outdoors. Extended households have also been temporarily suspended.

On 14 October, First Minister Mark Drakeford announced that the Welsh Government is preparing to prevent people who live in areas of the UK with high levels of coronavirus from travelling to Wales. 

Under regulations being prepared, people living in areas with high levels of coronavirus in England, Scotland and Northern Ireland will not be able to travel to Wales.

The new restrictions are planned to come into force at 6pm on Friday 16 October.


London has not yet confirmed any local lockdown measures, but it has been added to Public Health England’s watch list, which sets out areas of concern following a rise in infections.

See also  2021-02-28 02:13:20 | Ex-staffer Rachelle Miller to bring workplace lawsuit against ministers Tudge and Cash | Australian politics

It is expected that London will be placed under the Tier Two, or high alert level, in the Government’s new three-tier system.

The Mayor of London, Sadiq Khan, has not ruled out introducing new lockdown measures specific to London amid a rising tide in infections.


Story continues…

Source References: The Telegraph

Leave a Reply